These cookies are necessary for the basic functions of the shop.
Allow all cookies
Decline all cookies
These cookies are used to make the shopping experience even more appealing, for example for the recognition of the visitor.
Statistics & Tracking
Conversion and usertracking via Google Tag Manager
Vegan wines have always existed and many winemakers have always pressed without animal and chemical additives. Therefore, vegan wines are not a discovery of the modern era, but actually the standard. Influence on the wine is rarely taken in the cellar. In the clarification of turbid substances, for example, egg white or gelatin are added to the must. In this way, substances are bound and sink to the bottom. Skimmed off from above, the previously cloudy wine becomes a wonderfully clear drop. This effect is also achieved with vegetable proteins from potato starch, beans or peas. It has therefore long been unnecessary to use animal additives. A large part of the winegrowers renounces from house on it, produces vegan wines from principle. Therefore, you will find many vegan wines that are not recognizable as such. Vegan means higher prices for many people. With vegan wine a misconception. You can access courageously. Vegan wine is no different - vegan wine is just wine. Pure, natural and free of animal products.
In Germany, too, vegan wine is becoming increasingly popular. These are wines that are produced without animal fining agents. Instead, many wineries resort to natural fining methods, such as filtration or sedimentation. Natural haze also plays a role in the selection of grapes. Anyone looking for vegan wine from Germany should ask the winery or look for appropriate seals.
So what is vegan wine?
Vegan wine is made without animal products.
Instead of animal fining agents, many winemakers rely on natural clarification methods such as filtration or sedimentation.
Organic wine is also often produced vegan.
Vegan wine is available in wine stores, online stores and supermarkets.
All types of wine can be produced vegan. However, some varieties may have a natural cloudiness that requires natural clarification.
Animal substances in wine and vegan alternatives
Animal substances that may be present in the production of wine are no longer found in the finished wine. Only when working in the wine cellar, the following substances are used from time to time.
Gelatine: Obtained from animal proteins, mostly from pigs or cattle, gelatine is used to clarify wine. It binds the turbid substances in the wine and allows them to sink to the bottom. The clear wine can be skimmed off.
Casein: Casein is the protein portion of milk and is often used in the production of cheese. It has the same effect as gelatin in the production of wine, leaving a clear wine. Thus, after the wine is drawn off, it is free of turbidity and the protein casein.
Isinglass: Another way to clarify the wine is to use isinglass. This is a dried swim bladder of the sturgeon species Hausen. The principle is the same as above: Cloudy matter sinks, clear wine is drawn off from the top.
Albumin: This protein is found in egg yolk, milk and chicken egg white. Albumin forms small clots that can be easily filtered. This reduces the amount of tannin, especially in red wine.
Lysozyme: This enzyme is extracted from egg white and is used to control the biodegradation of acids. As a result, the wine gains a harmonious structure on the palate.
Vegan alternatives for the treatment of wine:
Vegetable proteins, such as those found in peas, beans and potatoes. These are also suitable for binding turbidity in wine. They sink to the bottom, and the clear wine is skimmed off.
Bentonite from volcanic ash is probably the best method for rapid clarification of wine. Similar to proteins, bentonite removes turbidity.
Activated carbon has great absorption capacity and removes unwanted odor, color and flavor substances from the wine.
Sedimentation is an extremely gentle process in which the undesirable substances separate naturally from the wine. To do this, the wine is simply left to stand. The substances migrate to the bottom, and the clear wine can be skimmed off. This process is quite lengthy, but has a positive effect on the quality of the wine.
The difference between vegan and non-vegan wine
The difference between vegan and non-vegan wine lies in the addition of the means in the wine cellar. Egg whites, fish gelatin, casein, albumin and isinglass may be present in the fining and clarification of wine. But none of these agents is without alternative. Bentonite, activated charcoal, vegetable gelatin and the process of natural sedimentation are available to winemakers as vegan solutions. There is also vegan wine from all grape varieties, such as:
Thus, the same results as non-vegan wine can be achieved and in some cases exceeded. Vegan wine takes a little more time to naturally reach its full potential. But then, making wine is not a race. And with a little patience and attention to detail, to wines and to animals, brilliant vegan wine is created. Vegan does not mean sacrificing pleasure.
Find and buy vegan wine
Finding a vegan wine, however, comes with a few hurdles. It is true that the wineries indicate on the bottles with specially created logos that this wine is vegan. However, there is no officially recognized seal. Some do completely without writing or seal. If you want to buy a vegan wine in a safe way, you will find it in our category vegan wines. All tested and free of animal additives. All around drink a good wine and enjoy without hesitation in harmony with nature.
Buy vegan wine cheap online
Do something good for yourself and the environment and serve vegan wine. Buy cheap the natural pleasure of high quality and natural wines on VINELLO. With us you will find vegan
Ordered easily and securely online, your vegan wine will come to you. Take your securely packaged wines, open a bottle of fine wine and experience vegan wine in its purest form. Treat yourself to fine wines with no animal additives, no doubt, no nonsense. Simply vegan wine on VINELLO - your wine store full of animal lovers.
Things to know about Vegan wine
What is vegan wine and how does it differ from conventional wine? Vegan wine is made without animal products. Conventional wine, however, is often clarified with animal ingredients such as gelatin, egg white or fish bladders. The taste and quality of the wine can differ as a result.
Why is vegan wine better for the environment? The production of vegan wine requires fewer resources and is often more sustainable than the production of conventional wine. This is because it does not use animal products and produces less waste.
How can I be sure that the wine I buy is vegan? Some wine producers label their products as vegan, others do not. You can also stick to certified organic wines, as they are often vegan. If in doubt, you can also contact wine stores or wine merchants that specialize in vegan wines.
Does vegan wine taste different from conventional wine? Vegan wine can differ in taste and quality from conventional wine. However, it depends on the production method and the grape varieties used.
Can I drink vegan wine if I don't follow a vegan diet? Yes, of course! Even if you do not follow a vegan diet, you can enjoy vegan wine. Benefit from its advantages for the environment and for animal welfare.
Be up to date with our wine recommendations! Receive weekly our latest wine tips, offers and sometimes vouchers..
* All prices include the applicable VAT, shipping costs and, if applicable, COD fees in the country of the delivery address, unless otherwise described. German law applies; more favourable national provisions of the consumer are not affected.
** Naturally you can unsubscribe from this newsletter at any time and without cost. Either use the given link in the mail or unsubscribe here.
Made with ❤️ in the Florence on the Elbe
VINELLO & Partner require your consent for data use, e.g. to display information about your interests. By clicking OK, consent is granted. more