Schlossgut Diel - Wines with history
The history of the Diel Castle Estate begins on September 11, 1802, when Johann Peter Diel acquires Layen Castle, built in the 13th century, and its surrounding lands. The family estate was passed down through generations: first to Jacob and Elfriede Diel, then from 1961 to Ingo and Alice Diel until finally in 1987 Armin Diel and his daughter Caroline took over the management of the Rümmelsheim estate at the foot of the historic Layen Castle.
The location of the castle estate west of the Rhine is characterized by a particularly mild climate and little rain. Complementing the optimal microclimatic conditions, the diverse soils contribute to the individuality and quality of the Schlossgut Diel wines. However, the ability to understand the characteristics of such diverse soils and to cultivate vines in such a way that high-quality top wines fructify from them has to be learned. Caroline Diel, the current owner, acquired this experience not only through her ancestors, but also through numerous internships and work stations around the world. After graduating from high school in California, Caroline was able to gain international wine knowledge and cultural impressions in Austria, South Africa, New Zealand and while working for Robert Weil, among others. Now, back in her home town of Burg Layen, she is incorporating the wealth of experience she has gained into her work as a winemaker.
In addition to Rieslings and Burgundy wines, the Diel winery produces sparkling wines and distillates. The winery in the Nahe region is one of the most renowned in the wine region.
More information aboutSchlossgut Diel
|Company Name:||Schlossgut Diel KG|
|Street:||Burg Layen 16|
|Contact & Web|
|Telephone:||+49 6721 96950|
|Year of Incorporation:||1802|
|Company Owner:||Diel family|
|Managing Director:||Armin und Caroline Diel|
|Vineyard Area:||25 Hektar|