
Cave de Lugny - Wines from Mâconnais
Already in the 18th century, the vineyards around Lugny were well known. Until the great phylloxera plague at the end of the 19th century, the area under vines in the commune grew to 500 hectares, making viticulture the main occupation of the inhabitants of this small town in southern Burgundy. After the pest left the region, the cultivated area grew back to its original level with the greatest efforts of the winegrowers. The grape varieties cultivated changed. If in the 18th century it was mainly the Gamay grape that was cultivated, by the end of the 19th century it was the Chardonnay that dominated the vineyards.
The emancipation of the winegrowers from the merchant houses
Cave de Lugny was founded on January 30, 1927 to give more freedom of action to the winegrowers of the region. Until then, they had been dependent on the wine merchants in the major cities of the region and could only operate within their guidelines. Quality was declining by this time. The production of mass-produced goods was to be curbed by the founding of the cooperative. With quality on the rise, the cooperative now produces 1/3 of the wines bottled throughout the Mâconnais, which are consistently high quality, with the Pouilly-Fuissé appellation being the only one to produce top wines.
More information aboutCave de Lugny
Address | |
---|---|
Company Name: | Cave de Lugny |
Street: | 995 rue des Charmes |
City: | 71260 Lugny |
Country: | France |
Region: | Burgundy |
Continent: | Europe |
Contact & Web | |
Website: | http://www.cave-lugny.com/ |
E-mail: | commercial@cave-lugny.com |
Telephone: | +33 3 85 33 22 85 |